Ausdrift Round 2 Results

Round 2 of the Ausdrift 2016 Championship has been run and won at Perth RC Arena. The overall standard of driving was very high, especially in RWD class where most of the battles were only separated by a very small margin.

2016 rd2
2016 Round 2: drivers and judges, Photo: Craig Jacka

The atmosphere for the event was fantastic with a total field of 16 entries and plenty of spectators. We welcomed four new championship competitors for this round; RWD – Stephen Galvin (first time drifting of carpet), AWD – Scott Hobbs, Andrew Marriott & Hugh. New drivers are always welcome and it’s great to see some new faces at the club. We also welcomed back former club president Robert Dack, it was good to see him at the club drifting again after hanging up the “gone fishing” sign earlier this year.

14 year old prodigy Luke Veersma had a fantastic night with a T.Q and 1st place in RWD class. His driving was close to perfect all night with a 92.67/100 qualifying score. Though he faced stiff competition in the top 4 battles with some very tough calls for the judges. Personally I was lucky to get away with a T.Q and 1st place in AWD class after some scrappy top 4 battles.

Many thanks to our host Perth RC Arena and to our sponsors; Perth RC, AsiaTees, OOSpeedDrive, MRC Plaza, Drift Bunny Decals and Ken Leong’s Drift School.

Thanks to the judging panel; Soorian Ang, Ken Leong & Peter Veersma for your hard work in making the tough decisions and to my fellow admins; Michael Smith, Anthony Tottman, Jayden Goncalves and Soorian Ang for helping to make the event a success.

Special thanks also to Craig Jacka for photographing all the action and to Amanda Walker for capturing video for the live Facebook feed.

Entrants; AWD class – 5, RWD class – 11

Judges; Soorian Ang (head judge and competition director), Ken Leong & Peter Veersma

RWD Class Results

Top Qualifier – Luke Veersma

1st place: Luke Veersma  –  2nd place: Bradley Burge  –  3rd place: Jordon Vukojevich

 AWD Class Results;

Top Qualifier – Noel Gettingby

1st place: Noel Gettingby,  2nd place: Scott Hobbs,  3rd place: Andrew Marriott

Please visit out the Ausdrift Facebook page for all of the event photos and videos.

Leave a Reply